Skip to main content
HighlightsHighlights Archive

The Sunak Government: Key Changes for BIVDA

By October 28, 2022No Comments

As you will have no doubt noticed, this week saw the arrival of Rishi Sunak as the new Prime Minister. Mr Sunak is now the first British Asian and Hindu UK Prime Minister which, no matter where your political allegiances lie, is a definite cause for celebration in a landmark moment in UK history.

Liz Truss’ fleeting stint as Prime Minister meant that we did not have adequate time to build relations with her relevant ministers, but we now look forward to introducing ourselves to Rishi Sunak’s new team over the next months.

On Mr Sunak’s first day in office, Jacob Rees-Mogg resigned as Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy with Grant Shapps MP swiftly moved to replace him. Mr Shapps has extensive experience in Government having served as Transport Secretary, Conservative Party Chairman and (briefly) Home Secretary.

Nus Ghani MP remains in her position at BEIS as Minister for Science and Investment Security. George Freeman MP, a friend of BIVDA and noted life science champion in Parliament, has been made the Minister for Science, Technology & Innovation – a role he has assumed in different incarnations in previous Tory Governments.

Therese Coffey MP has been shuffled from Health and Social Care Secretary to DEFRA, which has led to the appointment of a familiar name as her replacement. Steve Barclay MP, who was Health and Social Care Secretary in the last Johnson administration, takes on the position again. Mr Barclay has a reputation as a tough figure who has in the past focused heavily on health funding allocations.

Robert Jenrick MP also moves from DHSC to the Home Office, with Helen Whateley MP taking his place as a Minister of State for Health and Social Care. Will Quince MP and Neil O’Brien MP both remain Ministers of State at DHSC, while Maria Caulfield MP takes on her former role as a Minister of State as DHSC as well as the Minister for Women post.

To the joy of the markets, the calm-headed Jeremy Hunt remains as Chancellor of the Exchequer, however, there have been a few changes to his team. The experience John Glen MP becomes Mr Hunt’s deputy as Chief Secretary to the Treasury, Victoria Atkins has been appointed as Financial Secretary to the Treasury, and Andrew Griffith is now Economic Secretary to the Treasury.

We are still only a few days into the Sunak Administration and we await further appointments and portfolio clarifications. We will update you on relevant news as it develops.