Skip to main content
HighlightsHighlights Archive

Prime Minister assembles a new cohort of industry leaders for the Business Council

By February 4, 2022No Comments

A new Business Council has been created by the Prime Minister Boris Johnson, following the two-year anniversary of Brexit. This group is a revamped cohort, co-chaired by the Chancellor, that will work “to drive a high productivity, high growth economy over the next 12 months and level up local economies around the country”.

The new Council will support the UK’s recovery from COVID-19 and prioritise “delivering the green industrial revolution, creating new jobs and developing a skilled workforce, and unlocking global investment”.

Half of its 28 members are to be women, according to the list, an increase in the proportion of female members from last year’s Build Back Better Council.
Mr Johnson’s Build Back Better Council met for the final time last month, with some members privately expressing private scepticism about the value of the engagements with ministers.

“This new Businesses Council will help drive this vision forward and ensure our Plan for Growth is delivered successfully – levelling up across the country and powering a high growth, high productivity economy”, said Chancellor of the Exchequer, Rishi Sunak.

The full list of the Prime Minister’s Business Council:

Keith Anderson, Chief Executive, Scottish Power
Clare Barclay, Chief Executive Officer, Microsoft UK
Amanda Blanc, Group Chief Executive Officer, Aviva
Anne Boden MBE, Founder and CEO of Starling Bank
Prof. Matt Boyle OBE, Managing Director of Turn tide Transport
Alison Brittain CBE, Chief Executive, Whitbread PLC
Julie Brown, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer, Burberry
Anita Frew, Chair, Rolls Royce
Charles Hammond OBE, Chief Executive Officer, Forth Ports Limited
Aki Hussain, Group CEO of Hiscox
Greg Jackson, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Octopus
Dawid Konotey-Ahulu, co-founder, Redington Ltd
David Livingstone, Chief Executive Officer, Europe, Middle East and Africa, Citi
Martin Meeson, Chief Executive Officer, Fujifilm
Charlie Nunn, Group Chief Executive, Lloyds Banking Group
Dame Anne Richards DBE CVO, Chief Executive Officer, Fidelity International
Paula Rosput Reynolds, Board Member of bp, National Grid and GE
Dr Gordon Sanghera, co-founder, Oxford Nanopore
Matthew Scullion, CEO, Matillion
Baroness Joanna Shields OBE, Chief Executive Officer, Benevolent AI
Joanna Swash, Group CEO of Moneypenny
Nigel Toon, Chief Executive Officer and co-founder, Graphcore
Ben van Beurden, Chief Executive Officer, Shell
Richard Walker, Managing Director, Iceland Foods
Shai Weiss, CEO, Virgin Atlantic
Julie White, Managing Director, D-Drill (Master Drillers) Ltd
Lena Wilson CBE FRSE, Chair AGS Airports, Chair Picton Property and Non-Executive Director Natwest